Some Thoughts On Reliable Eyewitness Testimony

dopelyrics

Hello,

Fist of all, let me qualify this post. I am not a professional in psychology or law enforcement and my views and opinions come from what I have read or seen on the TV. I am hoping there is someone on this forum who can speak with a lot more authority and perhaps shed some light on what has oftentimes made me scratch my head.

I am led to believe that if you speak to any police officer or psychologist, they will tell you that eyewitness testimony can be notoriously unreliable. People who witness serious crimes or accidents are obviously in heightened states of excitement or anxiety, and this can have an effect on what they are seeing, or what they think they are seeing. This means they can perhaps misidentify things. In relation to the bigfoot/yeti phenomenon, I heard a story about an academic from where I live (Manchester, England) who was running though the Himalayas when he saw a yeti which was stood, almost still, for a short period of time. He even took a picture of it. He was convinced it was a yeti but when he went back a year later he discovered it was just a rock formation. His name is Tony Wooldridge and it is a fascinating story. The point here is that, yes, people can misidentify things and this is no doubt the case with a lot of Bigfoot sightings too I'm sure.