Recent Sighting; Take A Picture For Pete Sake

Guest azguy

Here's a recent report from the BFRO website.

Here is a great example why I'm sceptical.....In the first few lines it says she was there to take pictures, professsional photos at that. Well, if I was a professional photographer I would have been prepared for the photo op of a lifetime. I mean, you couldn't really be hiking and camping in the Pacific NW and not have any idea that BF's may or may not be there. Even if you were a non-beliver you may joke about having "your camera near, just in case".

I 100% agree that the story is very compelling and I truly beleive that people don't go out of their way to make up stories for 2 seconds of fame. Actually, I'm not even sure the BFRO website is 2 seconds of fame, but you get the idea.

Most photographers I see while on hikes have the camera around their neck or in their hand. It sounds like she made no attempt to score a picture.

Lastly, why are people so afraid ? When they heard sounds and picked up smells one could hunker down and really "maybe" get a good picture. Rather their first thought is look down and run....??

Again, I want to belive, but.....

LOCATION DETAILS: A foot path for hikers just above the natural bridges viewpoint. the trail was called loop trail. on the same path is a trail called coastal trail

NEAREST TOWN: Brookings Oregon

NEAREST ROAD: 101

OBSERVED: I took a three day vacation beginning on September the 14th 2012 from Northern Nevada to the Southern Coast of Oregon. I take professional photos for a website I operate and was hoping to get in some great scenic shots before it got to cold and lousy for the rest of the year.

My fiance and I were on a hike about six or eight miles above Brookings Oregon, in Curry county. We were on a hiking trail in a densely wooded area following a trail called the loop trail. This trail is about a quarter of a mile past the area called Natural Bridges viewpoint.