Woodknocks

Guest Cervelo

Guest Cervelo

I'm new to the world of Bigfoot fourms. I noticed a thread got started on BFRO about comparing woodknocks to gunfire and it got shut down pretty quick. What's that all about it doesn't seem very "scientific" to not rule out the know sound sources first. What I've listen to so far reminds very much of gunfire from a distance when I hunted in my youth. I've never heard a woodknock (or maybe I have) has this ground already been covered?

Thx

I've noticed that sometimes I hear something & wonder if it was a knock or a gunshot. In my experience, knocks can't be heard from very far away without a listening device, & it's easier to get confused about what the sound is when using one. Some are very clearly knocks, though. Naturally, it's easier to tell if it is close than if it's farther away.

It shouldn't be something for people to get in an argument over. They both happen.

I'm new to the world of Bigfoot fourms. I noticed a thread got started on BFRO about comparing woodknocks to gunfire and it got shut down pretty quick. What's that all about it doesn't seem very "scientific" to not rule out the know sound sources first. What I've listen to so far reminds very much of gunfire from a distance when I hunted in my youth. I've never heard a woodknock (or maybe I have) has this ground already been covered?

Thx

If you've heard enough of both there's a difference in the sound between a handgun, shotgun, muzzleloader type rifle, and wood knocks, they are subtle differences, but they don't all sound the same.

Guest Greldek

On the other hand if you haven't heard enough of both, you may not have any idea how to differentiate between the two. It's not hard for me to believe someone heard a distant gunshot and mistaken it for wood knocking, especially if they have never before heard wood knocking, and have just read about it second hand.