In-Line Trackways

HOLDMYBEER

I did a search on this but didn't see where it has been discussed.

Many people use the non-straddle, "tightrope" characteristic of a trackway to be an indicator of genuine sasquatch passage. What is the basis for this being a indicator of authenticity? If the no-straddle characteristic reflects some bio-mechanical difference in the sasquatch anatomy, what would that be? If it reflects an anatomical characteristic of the species, it must serve some evolutional advantage...but what would the advantage be? Why hasn't modern man developed the same characteristic? Is this characteristic associated with any other primate or early biped? Has the characteristic been observed in any well documented encounter or trackway find?

• Upvote 1

I am no expert by any means,but maybe it has something to do with the pelvic development, and the placement of the glutes relating to the center of gravity in a heavier animal? An inline step could be an advantage for walking in the thick forest as well,makes for a more narrow passage?

If it reflects an anatomical characteristic of the species, it must serve some evolutional advantage...but what would the advantage be?

Be a bit careful about this. Not everything about all organisms is there because they convey an evolutionary advantage. We have endless vestigial body-constructs and traits which confer no advantage, but are simply left-overs, which evolution hasn't needed to deal with. Our appendix, for instance, or all those nerves draped all over the light receptor cells at the back of our eyes, or that ridiculous nerve in our neck which travels down to near our heart to then turn around and head back up to our larynx (a 30" journey in place of a 6 inch journey).