Eye Witness Accounts: Good, Bad, Or Useless?

Eye witness accounts come up all the time in posts and are augured back and forth as to the whether or not they can be considered evidence. So I'm starting a post where this issue can be aired out.

Frankly, there is much generalizing about how reliable eye witness accounts can be.

Some would say they are evidence.

Some would they are all junk.

And many find themselves in the middle of these two extremes.

Where are you?

Frankly, I believe them to more credible than most people would, but that's just me. I'm not a scientist obliged by scientific rigor so I tend to fall of the side that they are a lower for of evidence, but evidence nonetheless. Granted no scientist worth his degrees would take eye witness accounts at blind faith, and this is where the rub takes place. Some feel not all accounts can be wrong, others feel that because a large portion are (or most likely are) erroneous (hoaxed, misidentification, lies, etc) that all are thus erroneous. But I believe the truth to be somewhere in the murky middle.

Below is a link to one of the largest studies ever done (27,000 participants) on memory with some interesting results as the the accuracy of memory.

http://m.guardiannews.com/science/blog/2012/mar/02/psychology-neuroscience

I'm sure there is much more out there in regards to memory, but I

Thought this would be a jump off point.

Without eye witness accounts, we have nothing. As much as they can vary... they should all be documented, compared , and considered. Are they all true ? Probably not. Is there anyone out there gifted enough to sort out the truth from the fiction, from just reading about it on this forum ? That is the question.

Human memory of events is flawed and unreliable. It's a wonder "eye-witnesses" are even allowed at trials any more.

And we remember some of what we see--that we were paying attention to. If we were not focused on it, we probably won't have "noticed" it.