Inquiry Into A Nw Oregon Field Plan

joebeelart

Was just informed a new retiree whom I have camped with intends to spend about a week a month from now through September in the NW Oregon Cascade Mountains.  And, another with access to a Flir unit is going to come out and stay a month.  That's a lot of time and investment. 

Am interested in your ideas for a good basic plan.  We will have plenty of experienced researchers to cycle through the project.  Should we stay in one area, say 10 to 20 square miles?  How should we use our day, dusk, dawn, night time?  What should we do in regard to standard offerings?  Should offerings be made outside of a search zone?  How often should they be checked?  Use of trail cams?  Night vision?    

I have some experience, but after reading the SWWASasqsuatch research thread, there is a lot to learn.  Joe Beelart, West Linn, Oregon

post-24826-0-86252400-1456154061_thumb.j

• Upvote 1

BFF Patron

Joe I hope you do not build your plan based on my experience since you have the advantage there.       I do have a couple of suggestions.     That if you use trail cams at all, hide them very well under natural materials.     Glue moss or something on them to make them very hard to notice.   Move them around, since  once found they are likely to be avoided.   Perhaps take them down for periods of time, then put them up again.    If your area is active without the cameras deployed,  and goes inactive when you put them up, that is valuable data.   Perhaps that could lead to learning how to disguise them or place them to get pictures.