Toward A Workable Census Methodology.

Guest Stan Norton

Guest Stan Norton

Ok. This thread is born out of frustration. I'm fed up of reading all sorts of wishy washy nonsense on this forum about how sasquatch is a special case and only certain individuals have the knowledge to commune with big hairy. I am a proponent in that I am entirely open to the idea that this creature exists. I am also a professional ecologist firmly rooted in the realities of biological research and so, for me, the only way we can ever hope to get over the perennial nonsense that plagues this field is to apply scientific rigour. This is sadly lacking from much research into sasquatch...just look at some of the tosh spouted on here.

I would therefore like serious minded individuals - I am hoping that those with outlandish ideas about sasquatch will opt out - to attempt to reach a workable census methodology which could be applied in a state or region or continent wide survey of likely sasquatch habitat, with the aim of gathering statistically valid data to see if there is indeed anything to this. 

I should very much like the sceptical among the membership to chip in in a constructive manner...please do suspend your natural incredulity for a while and play along...it would be much appreciated by many, not least me. 

I am looking for those with experience or knowledge of wildlife survey to help. Are there parallels from censuses for other organisms? Are there techniques which would not work for this creature? What is the balance between scientific rigour and practicable field methods?

My initial thoughts are some kind of transect method, using regular point counts to listen for or record putative calls.

I am in Britain and have never visited the Americas so local knowledge is vital to finding out what is possible.

Please, let intelligent discussion commence! Thanks in advance!

Edited by Stan Norton