Entry Level Trailcam

Guest young sasqua

Guest young sasqua

i have zero experience with trail cams and im ready to get my first. Is there such a thing as a decent trail cam for under $100? In the future I'll be spending real money but not without having some experience. for now I'd just like to get started without having to worry about it getting damaged or stolen. of course I'd like to be able to identify whats in the picture. actually any thoughts along the same lines as far as digital audio would be appreciated as well.

Guest ajciani

If all you are interested in is daytime color photography (possibly with a nighttime flash), then there are some decent ones that can be had for $80-ish. Actually, at that price, about all you get is a camera to monitor a trail or bait, that will snap pics no more often than once every 30 seconds. You will definitely be able to tell what the animal is, unless it's a bigfoot, in which case it could also be a bear with mange or a trespasser in a ghillie suit.

If you want to do nighttime IR, then I think you should read some of the camera placement and choices and Vermont trail cam picture revealed topics. You will see that not all IR cameras are created equal, and many are not up for the job. Most of the better IR ones will be in the $200 to $300 range, but even then, you have to be careful. Just because the camera says, "IR flash to 60 feet", does not mean that the shutter speed at that distance might not be a full second.

Also, for covert nighttime use, many trail cams have blinking indicator LEDs, their IR LEDs may glow red, and they may emit mechanical sounds, all of these things tipping off everything to the camera's presence.

• 1 month later...
Guest TooRisky